Breeding news and updates

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Queensland breeders are united in their fight to strengthen the popular QTIS initiative.

An open Thoroughbred Breeders Queensland Association meeting this afternoon was very well attended, with all those present passionate about retaining QTIS.
“A massive 73% of all Queensland race horses are owned by breeders so our opinion should really count for something,” said TBQA President, Basil Nolan.
Mr Nolan scheduled the meeting following grave concerns within the industry, after Racing Queensland released a discussion paper proposing numerous changes to QTIS to boost midweek and provincial racing prizemoney.
“Racing Queensland has made some worthwhile suggestions that we believe would benefit the Queensland Racing industry,” said Mr Nolan.
“We support the discussion paper and are unanimous in our resolve to retain QTIS.”
Those present agreed to a restructuring of QTIS and would particularly like to see the QTIS 600 scheme extended from 2 year olds to include 3 year olds.
A sub committee consisting of Basil Nolan, Bob Frappell, Neville Stewart and Steve Morley was formed and they will now work together to formulate a paper based on today’s discussions to present to Queensland Racing in the next week.
The Thoroughbred Breeders Queensland Association is holding its annual Awards shortly and is currently seeking nominations for Broodmare of the Year.
The criteria is:
TBQA Broodmare of the Year
1.     Owner resides in Queensland for 12 months or current financial member of the TBQA for 12 months.
2.     Broodmare resided in Queensland for the past 12 months.
3.     All race performances considered, including international performances in the   current racing season (August 1st – July 31st).
4.     The TBQA Committee decision is final.
Please forward your nominations to
One property in the Hervey Bay area is under quarantine after test results came back positive for Hendra virus.
A private veterinarian attended to the sick horse during the week and took appropriate samples for testing. The horse has been disposed of on the property. There is one horse remaining on the property.
Two properties in the Boondall area have been quarantined following confirmation of the virus.
A private veterinarian attended to the sick horse and took appropriate samples for testing. There are no horses remaining on this property, however there are six horses on the adjoining property, which is also quarantined.

In Queensland there are currently six separate locations where Hendra virus cases are being managed by Biosecurity Queensland.

EXCELLANTES’S late winter carnival surge might have come too late to earn a trip to Melbourne this spring despite his convincing victory at Doomben.
Excellantes provided premier trainer Rob Heathcote with a winning treble when he downed topweight Startsmeup by 1¼ lengths in the Jim Beam Handicap (1110m) yesterday.
The Ringmaster was a further long head away third.
Heathcote has booked seven boxes at Flemington for the Melbourne spring carnival but it is unlikely Excellantes will join stable flag bearers Woorim and Buffering interstate.
Heathcote believes Excellantes is worthy of an interstate trip but the timing does not fit.
Lyndhurst and Glenlogan Park Studs continued their impressive metropolitan performances with good winners at Doomben.
The Queenslander’s saluted in:
Race 7: 3yo Jim Beam Handicap 1110m – Excellantes (Falvelon)
Race 8: OMW Bruers Bright Handicap 1110m – Inventory (Sequalo)
The Toowoomba and the Downs Racing Awards will be held in the Grande Marquee at Clifford Park Racecourse in just over a month to honour the performances of racing industry participants.
The Toowoomba Turf Club (TTC) committee made the decision to revive the tradition at a committee meeting last month, stating that it was always an annual event which had stopped in the past few years.
The TTC, in conjunction with Clifton Jockey Club, Warwick Turf Club, Dalby and Northern Downs Jockey Club, are hosting the awards on Sunday, 21 August 2011 to reward the success of the region’s champion jockeys, trainers and owners for the 2010-11 racing season.